New Vinyl Releases: Music On Vinyl

25th May 2018

Brief news of vinyl releases from Music On Vinyl

MOV ( continues to push out high quality releases including two from blues legend Buddy Guy. Bring ‘Em In (2005) is too glossy while Guy is subsumed by his guest stars. Sweet Tea may be a bit contrived, a bit too ‘authentic’ but it’s a success nevertheless, revealing the man’s undoubted talents.

Two jazzers now. Jaco Pastorius’ Invitation (1983) is a big band presentation in which Pastorius offers a democratic template, allowing much of the excellent soloing to go elsewhere.

Ramsey Lewis’ Sun Goddess (1974) is jazz fusion at its best, introducing funk, R&B, synths, you name it. Earth, Wind & Fire fans out there? A lot of that band fill this superior LP.

From The Delfonics La La Means I Love You is the epitome of smooth, Philly groove soul. The title track is one such sublime – and signature – group sound.

Melissa Etheridge’s self-titled debut (1988) is a rocky album with a roots template that dazzled when it was initially released, reflecting on the complexity of relationships with an uptempo beat.  


From The Idle Race, The Birthday Party (1968) is British psychedelia at its best. No surprise from a band who features future ELO man, Jeff Lynne. There’s an attractive combination of strength and fragility here. 

Also a psychedelic art factory of some note, Dutch outfit The Fool’s self-titled LP (1968 – offered here with two bonus tracks) is a superb slice of Graham Nash-produced, ’way out’ folk fusion. A period piece but fun with it.

Finally, from the Lords of the Underground’s Here Comes the Lords (1993), a superior rap debut packed with top singles feature Marley Marl, K-Def, Mr. Funke and Dupre “Doitall” Kelly.

[Don’t forget to check out my Facebook Group, The Audiophile Man: Hi-Fi & Music here: for exclusive postings, exclusive editorial and more!]